CDC Funded Project – ICAN Regional Hubs

ICAN is starting ICAN hubs across Africa and we will have ICAN Hub training 14-18/11/2022 at century City Conference Centre to orientate and do a Train the Trainer with staff from 5 Hubs.
The ICAN hub, defined as a decentralised units of ICAN, also known as ICAN Collaborating Centers (ICC) have the role to expand the ICAN vision of a continent that is free of avoidable infections in their respective regions through Capacity building, Information sharing, Creation and/or strengthening of national societies, Networking through conferences, workshops and Research. Each regional hub is headed by a Regional Coordinator who shall be nominated by the member societies (associations) and ratified by the ICAN Board. The Regional Hub shall be managed by a Regional Steering Committee (RSC) comprising the heads of the national societies or associations.

Central African Regional Hub

The central African hub covering 9 countries with a population of about 158,6 million include, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Gabon, and Sao Tome & Principe.

North Africa Regional Hub


  • North Africa region encompassing the northern portion of the African continent.
  • The region is stretching from the Atlantic shores of Mauritania in the west, to Egypt’s Suez Canal
  • The united nations definitions limit the region to the countries of Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, Egypt, Sudan, and the Western Sahara
  • According to the WHO classification, countries of the North Africa belongs to the AFR (Morocco & Algeria) and EMR (Tunisia, Libya, Egypt, & Sudan)
  • The current population of Northern Africa is 256,658,576 sharing many ethnic, cultural and linguistic identity with the Middle East


Regional ICAN partner

  • Mersal Foundation is one of the most popular NGOs in the medical field in Egypt and North Africa region and was selected by ICAN to host the North Africa Hub as Mersal is providing support for more than 100 hospitals and service provider with more Than 30,000 registered patients and more than 45 national and international partners
  • Northern ICAN Hub will collaborate with the active societies in the region through a steering committee that will be activated during 2023.


East African Regional Hub.

The total population of the region is about 423,995,015.

According to the Africa CDC regional coordinating structure there are 14 Member States in the Eastern Africa Region and are is below is the list of member states

  • Union of the Comoros
  • Republic of Djibouti
  • State of Eritrea
  • Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
  • Republic of Kenya
  • Republic of Madagascar
  • Republic of Mauritius
  • Republic of Rwanda
  • Republic of Seychelles
  • Federal Republic of Somalia
  • Republic of the Sudan
  • Republic of South Sudan
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • Republic of Uganda

Regarding the national IPC Societies

So far Ethiopian IPC Association (EIPCA),Kenyan IPC Network, Madagascar IPC  Society( SMPCI/WASH) and Tanzania IPC Society have been established.

Enter Your Details Below